Postal Zones

There are nine PIN zones in India, including eight regional zones and one functional area (for Indian Army) . The first digit of the PIN code indicates the region. The second digit indicates the sub-region, and the third digit indicates the sorting district in the region. The last three digits are assigned to individual post offices.

The 9-pin areas include Indian states and union territories, as follows:

1 - Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Chandigarh
2 - Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
3 - Rajasthan, Gujarat, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
4 - Goa, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
5 - Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Telangana
6 - Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry, Lakshadweep
7 - Odisha, West Bengal, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram,Tripura, Meghalaya, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Assam, Sikkim
8 - Bihar, Jharkhand
9 - Army Post office (APO) and Field Post office (FPO)

The first three digits of the PIN represents a specific geographic region called a sorting district which has its headquarters at the main post office in the largest city and is known as the sorting center. A state can have one or more districts sort based on the mail processed volumes.

The first 2 digits of PIN indicates as below:

First 2 Digits of PIN Indicates Circle
11 Delhi
12 and 13 Haryana
14 to 16 Punjab
17 Himachal Pradesh
18 to 19 Jammu & Kashmir
20 to 28 Uttar Pradesh and Uttaranchal
30 to 34 Rajasthan
36 to 39 Gujarat
40 to 44 Maharashtra
45 to 49 Madhya Pradesh and Chattisgarh
50 to 53 Andhra Pradesh
56 to 59 Karnataka
60 to 64 Tamil Nadu
67 to 69 Kerala
70 to 74 West Bengal
75 to 77 Orissa
78 Assam
79 North Eastern
80 to 85 Bihar and Jharkand
90 to 99 Army Postal Service (APS)